Darlington School: Cum Laude inducts 23 students
Some text some message..

Cum Laude inducts 23 students

May 4, 2020 | 748 views

The Darlington Chapter of the Cum Laude Society inducted 23 students during a virtual installation ceremony on Monday, May 4.

According to Dean of College Guidance Sam Moss (’63), Chapter president, membership in the Cum Laude Society is one of the highest academic honors Darlington can bestow upon members of the student body. To be eligible for consideration, students must have an A (93) average for all four years, have taken at least eight Honors or AP courses over four years (or two each year), have earned a very high class rank and have demonstrated good character, honor and integrity in all aspects of their school life. Membership is limited to a maximum of 20% of each senior class.

Inductees included Leigh Chelsea Barnes, Kasey Nicole Barnett, Lauren Anne Botwinik, Molly Giles Brewer, Abigail Marie Burris, Yunhao Cao, Trang Minh Dang, Caroline Mae Dingler, Andrew William Ferderer, Frances Isabelle Fields, Zijian Gao, Yuchen Guo, Veeka Marie Malanchuk, Joseph Franklin Manning II, Jalyn Morgan Massey, Rushabh Tushar Patel, Chandler Joseph Pittman, Nicholas Frederick Powell, Xiangyi Sun, Hampton Alexander Watkins, Grace Hannah Watters, Dawson Shag Williams, and Zheng Yin. 

“The Cum Laude Society recognizes excellence in academic work,” said Moss. “As these students pursue their education, it is our hope that they will accept this honor as a responsibility to make a contribution to the ongoing search for greater understanding of one's self and of society.”