Darlington School: Private Boarding School in Georgia Cum Laude Society inducts 28 students, 2 faculty members
Darlington School: Private Boarding School in Rome, GA
Some text some message..

Cum Laude Society inducts 28 students, 2 faculty members

January 28, 2015 | 1575 views

The Darlington Chapter of the Cum Laude Society inducted 28 students and two faculty members during an installation ceremony on Wednesday, Jan. 28, in Morris Chapel.

According to Dean of College Guidance Sam Moss (’63), Chapter president, membership in the Cum Laude Society is one of the highest academic honors Darlington can bestow upon members of the student body. To be eligible for consideration, students must have an A (93) average for all four years, have taken at least eight Honors or AP courses over four years (or two each year), have earned a very high class rank and have demonstrated good character, honor and integrity in all aspects of their school life. Membership is limited to a maximum of 20% of each senior class.

Inductees included Max Robert Berry, Kinslee Brooke Clevenger, Natalie Marie Collins, Wright Willingham Crawford, Ha Hoang Dang, Mario Louis Dinatti, Christopher Jackson Edwards, Spencer Jackson Fields, Rachel Katherine Gideon, John Winfred Goldin, Matthew James Guitard, Hannah Grace Harper, Matthew James Heiken, Dawson Alexander Horah, Rachel Elizabeth Hudson, Katherine Marie Hutchins, Sally Elizabeth Jones, Nadin Melissa Kosedag, Jingyuan Li, Wonseok Lim, Niambh Saoirse O’Neill, Caroline Hope Roberson, Carl Richard Schriever, Hannah Charlesean Schriever, Jack Vaughan Tunnell, Jienan Wang, Yanqing Zhao, and Jieru Zeng.

“The Cum Laude Society recognizes excellence in academic work,” said Moss. “As these students pursue their education, it is our hope that they will accept this honor as a responsibility to make a contribution to the ongoing search for greater understanding of one's self and of society.”

The society also inducted two Darlington faculty members: John E. Cox, Upper School Thatcher Chair of English, and Philip H. Titus, Upper School science teacher.

Click here to view a photo gallery from the ceremony.